Life By Design

“When we are motivated by goals that have deep meaning, by dreams that need completion, by pure love that needs expressing, then we truly live life”. ~Greg Anderson

One of the “Unreflecting Herd”!

Hello Friends…

This morning I awake to the sun drifting over the field and the sunlight beginning to touch the tops of the trees.   As I take a deep breath I realize that the welcome companion to the awesomeness of the morning is my intention to expand into the day.  It is a strange way to describe the sense I have of reaching out with every part of my being and touching the sunlight, the coolness of the dissipating fog, and the dew on the grass.  It’s a light, joyous, and connected feeling!

Now, upon further reflection, I recall the heaviness felt when arising to steady rain and cold a mere 24 hours ago.

I have to ask myself, “At what point in history did society attach a “good” or “bad” label to the weather.  In many cases (including my own), people will have a good or bad day, feel good or bad, or be in a good or bad mood based on the weather.  You laugh, but read a facebook newsfeed on a beautiful sunny day (not too hot or humid!) and compare that to a cloudy or rainy day.  People, in general…certainly in central Ohio, are happier on a sunny day.

One of my personal growth exercises is to bring attention to thoughts and habits that don’t serve me.  I can totally commit to the idea that uncontrollable fluctuations of the weather influencing my mood and ultimately my happiness is nothing short of ludicrous.

“Habits rule the unreflecting herd” ~ William Wordsworth

In the book Excuses Begone by Dr. Wayne Dyer, Dr. Dyer states that the word “herd”, in the above quote by William Wordsworth, is “being used as a pejorative term for thinking like everyone else.  Your goal is to disrupt those habits that have led you to act like just one more member of the obedient pack.”

Thoreau writes, “As a single footstep will not make a path on the earth, so a single thought will not make a single pathway in the mind.  To make a deep physical path, we walk again and again.  To make a deep mental path, we must think over and over the kind of thoughts we wish to dominate our lives.”

Yesterday, I determined that I would change my thought about the rain.  I found a great quote from the book The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett.  I have to admit…every time I started to grumble in my head about the weather (getting in and out of the car, the wind taking my screen door, squishing through the mud while walking my dogs) I thought about the sun shining on the rain and I smiled.  Remembering that quote changed the way I thought about the rain!

I am forging a new pathway in my mind.  This new pathway will, with many treks, become well-worn and will become the new thoughts dominating my life.

Namaste’

Annamarie

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “One of the “Unreflecting Herd”!

  1. Pingback: Be the Being of It! | Life By Design

Thank you for your interest in Life By Design. Comments and Discussions are welcome!

