Life By Design

“When we are motivated by goals that have deep meaning, by dreams that need completion, by pure love that needs expressing, then we truly live life”. ~Greg Anderson

Life’s Choices…

What is the “right” thing?

Stephen R. Covey, author of 7 Habits of Highly Effective People says, “Doing more things faster is no substitute for doing the right things.”  In this world of being the “perfect” wife, mother, daughter, friend, cook, gardener, and CEO, along with being fit, well read, socially conscious, and socially active… What are the “right” things?

Recently, when presented with an opportunity, I created a list of pro’s and con’s.  The Pro’s list was far longer than the con’s.  This opportunity was something that:

  • would have made money
  • I may need in the future
  •  in which I am talented
  • would be an investment
  • promised success
  • I would have loved – the thought of it now makes me smile with possibility

This was something I really wanted!

I am realizing, more often than not, what will make me happy in the short-term is not what will bequeath me a joyous life; it is rarely the thing that will evolve or transform me.  In 2011, I defined my core values based on what it would take for me to enjoy life.  I adopted the Aristotelian concept, eudemonia, that “the goal of life is happiness, to be achieved through reaching one’s full potential as opposed to through the hedonistic pursuit of pleasure.” (The Thinkers Thesaurus)

Upon finally weighing this opportunity against my life purpose and living my core values, I recognized that the opportunity would have sidetracked me.  Oh Yes, this opportunity would have been a ton of fun – for a while, and frankly, it would have been more in my comfort zone and less personally risky that what I am now doing.  It would have directed me down a comfortable, well-worn path, terminating at the same dead-end I found myself three years ago – been there…done that!  I did the hard work to discover my life purpose and write my core values.  My intention is to live and “be” those at this moment!

So, back to the question…What are the “right” things?  Instead of weighing the pro’s and con’s ask yourself the question; Will (doing, being, having) this_____________________________ be living my core values and life purpose?  You may be surprised by the answer – I was…

Namaste’

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Life’s Choices…

  1. Pingback: Be the Being of It! | Life By Design

Thank you for your interest in Life By Design. Comments and Discussions are welcome!

